About The Author

Hi! I’m Lindsay. I’m 23 years old. I’m South African and I’ve lived in Johannesburg my whole life. I still live in the same house I grew up in; with my parents, my housekeeper, her 18 year old granddaughter (my adopted sister) and our 6 fur-babies. I have an older brother and a lovely sister-in-law.

My Life Motto

Never a failure, always a lesson


It doesn’t matter that you failed, what matters is that you learn from your failures.

My Travels So Far

I have been to 16 countries so far! My trips over the past few years have included:

  • California, USA, 3 weeks, December 2018 – January 2019
  • South to North Vietnam, 2 weeks, November 2018
  • Siem Reap and Phnom Penh, Cambodia, 3 days, November 2018
  • Garden Route and the Karoo, South Africa, 3 weeks, January 2018
  • Spanish Spree Contiki, Spain, 2 weeks, November 2017
  • Thai West Island Hopper Contiki, Thailand, 9 days, December 2016

Keeping Fit

Pole dancing is the best sport I’ve ever had the privilege of trying! I’ve been dancing since January 2017 and its completely transformed my body, my confidence and my mindset. I’ve cycled quite a bit too – my dad and I completed the Amashova Durban Classic 106km cycle race on a tandem bicycle in October 2018. I’m currently trying to get into running more.


travelindsay Graduation, BSc Hons (Actuarial Science), March 2018
Graduation, BSc Hons (Actuarial Science), March 2018

I studied at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. In 2016, I completed my BSc Statistics and Actuarial Science. And in 2017, I completed my BSc Honours (Actuarial Science). I’m in the process of completing my actuarial board exams (10 down, 3 to go).

Day Job

Graduate Program, 2018

I work full time at a bank as a quantitative analyst , and I spend about 6 hours a week tutoring high school students in Maths, Advanced Maths and Afrikaans. My dream job is something in the field of education, I just haven’t figured out exactly what that is yet and I’m taking a seriously roundabout way to get there!

%d bloggers like this: